About Johns Hopkins
spacer for safari Nobel Prize art

Nobel Prize Winners

The following winners of Nobel Prizes have had an association with The Johns Hopkins University, either as graduates of Johns Hopkins or as faculty of the university before, at the time of or subsequent to their receipt of the prize.


1. Woodrow Wilson
Ph.D. 1886 (History)
Nobel Prize in Peace, 1919
2. James Franck
Professor of Physics, 1935-38
Nobel Prize in Physics, 1925
3. Nicholas Murray Butler
Lecturer, 1890-91
Nobel Prize in Peace, 1931
4. Thomas Hunt Morgan
Ph.D. 1890 (Zoology); LL.D. 1915
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1933
5. George Richards Minot
Assistant in Medicine, 1914-15
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1934
6. George Hoyt Whipple
M.D. 1905; Associate Professor in Pathology, 1910-14
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1934
7. Harold Clayton Urey
Associate in Chemistry, 1924-28
Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1934
8. Joseph Erlanger
M.D. 1899; Assistant in Physiology, 1900-01; Instructor, 1901-03; Associate, 1903-04; Associate Professor, 1904-06; LL.D. 1947
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1944
9. Herbert Spencer Gasser
M.D. 1915
Nobel Prize in Physiology, 1944
10. Vincent du Vigneaud
National Research Fellow, Pharmacology 1927-28
Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1955
11. Maria Goeppert-Mayer
Assistant in Physics, 1930-32; Associate, 1932-36
Nobel Prize in Physics, 1963
12. Francis Peyton Rous
A.B. 1900; M.D. 1905
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1966
13. Haldan Keffer Hartline
M.D. 1927; Professor of Biophysics, 1949-54
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1967
14. Lars Onsager
Associate in Chemistry, 1927-28
Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1968
15. Simon Kuznets
Professor of Political Economy, 1954-60
Nobel Prize in Economics, 1971
16. Christian B. Anfinsen
Professor of Biology, 1982-1995
Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1972
17. Hamilton O. Smith
M.D. 1956; Assistant Professor of Microbiology, 1967-69; Associate Professor, 1969-1973; Professor, 1973-1998; Professor Emeritus 1998-present
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1978
18. Daniel Nathans
Assistant Professor, 1962-65; Associate Professor, 1965-67; Professor of Molecular Biology and Genetics, 1967-1999; Interim President, 1995-96
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1978
19. David H. Hubel
Assistant Resident, Neurology, 1954-55; Fellow, Neuroscience, 1958-59
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1981
20. Torsten Wiesel
Fellow, Ophthalmology, 1955-58; Assistant Professor, 1958-59
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1981
21. Sir Richard Stone
Visiting Professor, Political Economy 1953-54
Nobel Prize in Economics, 1984
22. Merton H. Miller
Ph.D. 1952 (and honorary doctorate 1993)
Nobel Prize in Economics, 1990
23. Robert W. Fogel
Ph.D. 1963
Nobel Prize in Economics, 1993
24. Martin Rodbell
B.A. Biology 1949
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1994
25. Jody Williams
M.A. Latin American Studies (SAIS) 1984
Nobel Prize in Peace, 1997
26. Robert H. Mundell
Visiting faculty at SAIS Bologna Center, 2000-2001; AGIP Chair in International Economics at the center, 1997-98; also was on the center's faculty, 1959-61
Nobel Prize in Economics, 1999
27. Paul Greengard
Ph.D. Biophysics 1953
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 2000
28. Riccardo Giacconi
Professor of Physics and Astronomy, 1982-1997;
Research Professor of Physics and Astronomy 1998-present
Nobel Prize in Physics, 2002
29. J.M. Coetzee
Hinkley Visiting Professor in the Writing Seminars, Jan. 1, 1989 to June 30, 1989
Nobel Prize in Literature, 2003
30. Peter Agre
M.D. 1974; Postdoctoral fellow, Department of Pharmacology, 1974-75; Research Associate/Instructor, Cell Biology and Anatomy, and Medicine, 1981-83; Assistant Professor, 1984-88; Associate Professor, 1988-93; Professor of Biological Chemistry and Medicine, 1993-2005, Malaria Institute, 2008-.
Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2003
31. Richard Axel
M.D. 1971
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 2004
32. Andrew Fire
Adjunct professor of biology, 1989-
Nobel Prize in Medicine, 2006
33. Carol Greider
Daniel Nathans Professor and Director of Molecular Biology and Genetics
Institute of Basic Biomedical Sciences, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine 1997-
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2009
34. Robert Edwards
Visiting researcher, School of Medicine 1965
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2010
35. Adam Riess
Krieger-Eisenhower Professor in Physics and Astronomy,
Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts & Sciences
Nobel Prize in Physics, 2011
36. Daniel Shectman
Visiting researcher, Whiting School of Engineering 1981-83
Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2011
NOTE: International Physicians for The Prevention of Nuclear War Inc. of Boston, Mass., was the winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 1985. Two Johns Hopkins graduates -- Bernard Lown, M.D. 1945, and James E. Muller M.D. 1969 -- were among the six physicians (three Americans, three Soviets) who founded that organization in 1980. Dr. Lown delivered one of the two Nobel acceptance speeches on behalf of the organization.

Revised October 4, 2011

The mission of The Johns Hopkins University is to educate its students and cultivate their capacity for life-long learning, to foster independent and original research, and to bring the benefits of discovery to the world.