Established in 1998 by the Mirowski Family Foundation in memory of Michel Mirowski

MICHEL MIROWSKI, a pioneering cardiologist, was the inventor and co-developer of the implantable cardioverter defibrillator (ICD), a lifesaving device that detects ventricular fibrillation and produces a counter-shock that returns the heart to normal rhythm. Dr. Mirowski survived the Holocaust as a young teenager in Poland and studied medicine in Lyons, France. He completed his residency and fellowship at Tel Hashomer Hospital in Israel and in pediatric cardiology at Johns Hopkins with Helen Taussig. During a career spanning more than 30 years, Dr. Mirowski published extensively in the field of atrial and ventricular arrhythmias. He led the way for the clinical use of the ICD despite enormous obstacles and skepticism from within the medical profession. It was his steadfast commitment to the concept of the ICD and to the goal of introducing it into clinical cardiology in his lifetime that allowed him to see its success and life-saving impact before his untimely death in 1990.


GORDON F. TOMASELLI, named the Michel Mirowski, M.D., Professor of Cardiology in October 2007, previously served as the David J. Carver Professor of Medicine. He joined the Hopkins faculty in 1989, and in 2009 was named director of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine's Division of Cardiology and co-director of the school's Heart and Vascular Institute. Known for his work on cardiac electrophysiology and arrhythmias, his laboratory interests include the structure and function of ion channel genes and proteins, and molecular genetic changes in excitability molecules which occur in heart failure. Dr. Tomaselli is board certified in internal medicine, cardiovascular disease, and clinical electrophysiology and pacing. He is the deputy editor and an associate editor of Circulation Research and serves on the editorial boards of Circulation and the Journal of Cardiovascular Electrophysiology. He was named president of the American Heart Association in July of 2011, and is a member of the board of directors of the Heart Rhythm Society and American Heart Association. In 2004 he received the David M. Levine Excellence in Mentoring Award from Hopkins' Department of Medicine.