Established in 1994 by the Jacob and Hilda Blaustein Foundation in memory of Morton K. Blaustein

Image Credit: Ferdinand Hamburger Jr. Archives, Johns Hopkins University, Milton S. Eisenhower Library MORTON K. BLAUSTEIN, A&S 1950, one of Baltimore's most active civic leaders and philanthropists, was a longtime university trustee and the chairman and chief executive officer of the American Trading and Production Corporation. He held a doctorate in petroleum geology and was appointed to the National Petroleum Council by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior. The Alumni Association presented Dr. Blaustein with its Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1976. The Morton K. Blaustein Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences is also named in memory of Dr. Blaustein, who died in 1990 at the age of 64. He also created, with others, the Chair in Music History and Criticism at the Peabody Conservatory.


The JACOB AND HILDA BLAUSTEIN FOUNDATION was established by Morton Blaustein's mother, Hilda, and his father, Jacob, the Baltimore industrialist who founded the American Oil Company (Amoco). The foundation has provided significant support for various areas of the university and hospital.


THOMAS W.N. HAINE, the Morton K. Blaustein Professor and Chairman of Earth and Planetary Sciences, is a physical oceanographer who studies ocean circulation and the ocean's role in climate. His research includes exploration of the high-latitude oceans and the way they are changing. He works with oceanographic data, some of which he collected himself during more than 10 field expeditions, high-resolution numerical models of the ocean that run on supercomputers, and theory. He has developed and applied a fundamental framework to interpret trace substances in geophysical fluids. He has tackled fundamental questions in rotating stratified fluid dynamics. And he has led an international program to study how the Arctic and sub-Arctic ocean are responding, and influencing, climate change.

Professor Haine holds degrees in physics and theoretical physics from the University of Cambridge, and a PhD in oceanography from the University of Southampton, both in his native UK. Before moving to Johns Hopkins in 2000, he was a postdoctoral researcher at MIT, and a University Lecturer in Physics at the University of Oxford. He is a Fellow of the Royal Meteorological Society and recipient of a Group Achievement Award from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.