Established in 1992 as the Endowed Chair in Pediatric Anesthesia; renamed in honor of Dr. Traystman in 2003

RICHARD J. TRAYSTMAN, Med 1971 (PhD), was a member of the School of Medicine faculty from 1972 to 2003, holding the title of University Distinguished Research Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, and serving as his department's senior vice chairman for research and director of research laboratories. Dr. Traystman's research involves the mechanisms of cerebrovascular regulation in the fetus, newborn, and adult during a variety of pathophysiologic conditions; neuroprotection during stroke and cardiopulmonary resuscitation; and the mechanisms of brain injury following focal and global cerebral ischemia. He received the American Society for Anesthesiologists' Excellence in Research Award in 1997, the Laerdal Prize of the Society of Critical Care Medicine in 1991, and the Berne Award from the American Physiological Society in 1996. This professorship was originally established as the Endowed Chair in Pediatric Anesthesia in 1992 by Dr. Mark Rogers; the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine honored Dr. Traystman in 2003 by renaming it in his honor.


MYRON YASTER, the inaugural Richard J. Traystman Professor in Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, serves in both the departments of Anesthesiology/Critical Care Medicine and Pediatrics. He directs the Multi-Disciplinary Pain Service in the Children's Medical and Surgical Center and is clinical director of Pediatric Anesthesiology and Pain Management, which treats approximately 3,000 patients annually and is rated among the best worldwide. Dr. Yaster is a pioneer in the development of new methods of preoperative sedation in children using new drugs, novel drug delivery techniques, and parental presence in the operating room at the induction of anesthesia. Two of Dr. Yaster's textbooks, Pain in Infants, Children, and Adolescents and The Pediatric Pain Management and Sedation Handbook, are considered the gold standard in their field.