Established in 1976 by the University at its Centennial to honor Johns Hopkins alumni

Image Credit: Ferdinand Hamburger Jr. Archives, Johns Hopkins University, Milton S. Eisenhower Library In 1976, the university celebrated its 100th birthday with a year of parties, dinners, and parades, and a centennial symposium that brought scholars from all over the world to Hopkins. The century of achievement was also commemorated by the establishment of two Alumni Centennial Professorships in the School of Arts and Sciences.


CHARLES BENNETT, the Alumni Centennial Professor, is one of the world’s leaders in the study of the cosmic microwave background radiation that fills the universe. A professor at Johns Hopkins since 2005, he has brought numerous accolades to the Department of Physics and Astronomy in his short time here, including being elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2005 and receiving the National Academy of Sciences’ Henry Draper Medal in 2005, the Harvey Prize in 2006, the Comstock Prize in Physics in 2009, and the 2010 Shaw Prize in Asronomy (co-winner). In 2012 he and his Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) team won the Gruber Cosmology Prize.